STAY AT HOME ORDER EXTENDED- UPDATED MARCH 31

Stay at Home Order Extended

Update: March 31, 2020

Dear Henry-Senachwine Parents, Guardians, and Students:

Please review the updated information below.

Updated School Schedule:  

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzger extended the “Stay at Home” order in Illinois through April 30th.  Our use of remote learning will be extended through April 30th.  More information and updates to come.

Meals:  To request meals for your student(s), please contact your student’s school office (High School at 309-364-2829 or Grade/Junior High School at 309-364-2531) or email our food service director, Mrs. Laurie Carroll, at lcarroll@hscud5.org

Free Internet:  Just a reminder - families may have the opportunity for free internet through Mediacom.  Click on https://mediacomc2c.com, click on “Apply Today”, then enter your zip code and complete the online form to see if you qualify.  You can call Mediacom at 1-855-904-2255 for more information.

School Building Access:  During the mandated “Stay at Home” order, all school buildings are closed.

Remote Learning for Henry-Senachwine School District, beginning Thursday, April 2nd – Thursday, April 30th.

 

 March 16, 2020

Resources for Learning Opportunities

For use during our school closure, March 17, 18, 19, 20, and 30, teachers have compiled on-line and hard copy resources for our students to sustain current skills and to enhance learning.  Students are NOT required to complete specific activities or worksheets and NOTHING will be graded that is done during this closure.

The on-line resources below are organized into SUBJECT areas labeled below. 

If you would like a paper copy of activities for your student, please call the school office (309) 364 2829 and make arrangements to collect a copy.

History/Social studies sites:

Library of Congress: https://www.loc.gov/ 

US History.org: https://www.ushistory.org/

Illinois State Museum: http://www.illinoisstatemuseum.org/content/illinois-state-museum-history

Information on elections/Government: https://www.usa.gov/

Spanish:

World language practice: https://www.duolingo.com/

Online books in Spanish, some audiobooks:  https://www.getepic.com/

The Spanish Experiment online lessons: https://www.thespanishexperiment.com/learn-spanish

Free online Spanish courses: https://verbalicity.com/learn-spanish-free/

Math:

Math practice/Fun activities for all: https://www.geogebra.org/

Science:

Science Interactive lessons for all courses:     https://www.biointeractive.org/

https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/labs/

Practice with chemical bonding/phase changes(Collisions)   https://app.playmada.com

Account KIRHP524

Google online Physics Activities-there are several sites with Physics games

www.physicsgames.net

https://poki.com/en/physics

https://www.freeonlinegames.com/tag/physics

Check out career opportunities in Chemistry at 

https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/careers/college-to-career/chemistry-careers.html

For the latest space news, go to https://www.nasa.gov/

English:

www.commonlit.org

www.newsELA.com

https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style/mla_formatting_and_style_guide/mla_formatting_and_style_guide.html



The Illinois State Board of Education has also identified a few free online resources that can be sources of activities and inspiration: 



ISBE E-Learning site:    https://www.isbe.net/e-learning   

              https://www.isbe.net/Pages/ContinueEDResources.aspx   

Share My Lesson: www.sharemylesson.com 

National Geographic: https://www.nationalgeographic.org/education/resourcelibrary/?q=&page=1&per_page=25  

Field Museum: https://www.fieldmuseum.org/educators/learning-resources/plantsanimals

Lesson Planet: https://www.lessonplanet.com/ 

The Learning Network: https://www.nytimes.com/section/learning   

Statistics in Schools: https://www.census.gov/programssurveys/sis/2020census/2020-resources.html

EdEx: https://www.edx.org/ 

Global Digital Library: https://www.digitallibrary.io/

Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/ 

Learning Equality: https://learningequality.org/kolibri/ 

12 World Art Museum collections online. https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/75809/12-world-class-museums-you-can-visit-online

 

 

 

 











Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.