Illinois State Scholars

5 students and 1 principal standing in front of a brick wall

Henry-Senachwine High School is pleased to announce that five students from the Henry-Senachwine graduating class of 2018 have been recognized as IllinoisState Scholars.

 The Illinois Student Assistance Commission(ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, confers this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, more than 20,000 outstanding honorees join the other top students who have been honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.  

 Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 738 high schools across the stateIllinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.

 Congratulations to the following students recognized as Illinois State Scholars; Matthew Boucher, son of David and Virginia Boucher; Jay Hufnagel, son of Greg and Tara Hufnagel; Madison Karls, daughter of John and Kelly Karls; Jacob Rhoades, son of Brian and Lisa Rhoades; and Gavin Smith, son of Tim and Angie Smith.

 “On behalf of ISAC, I want to congratulate all of this year’s State Scholars for their exceptional work and wish them much success in their future endeavors,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC executive director. “Thank you also to the teachers, parents, coaches and other mentors who support our students, inspire them, and help them navigate a path to college. You make a tremendous difference not only in our students’ lives, but in improving economic prosperity and building a bright future for our state.” 

Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.